Home
Options

Comparing Dates in LINQPad

edited June 2012
I am very new to LINQ and LINQPad (1 week). I have an SQL database that has a string date, testdate, in the format "yyyymmdd". I add a column that is a real date as in the following:

var allProcessed=
from q in ABGDEMOG_2s
where q.Processed==true
select new {q.CLINIC_NUM,q.Last_Name,q.TestDate,q.TestTime,RealDate=DateTime.Parse(q.TestDate.Substring(4,2)+"/"+q.TestDate.Substring(6,2)+"/"+q.TestDate.Substring(0,4))};

allProcessed.Count().Dump("Total number of Processed Records");

This works normally. If I perform a dump of the records, the RealDate column appears and is of type DateTime.
However, the problem arises when I try to get a subset of the processed records according to date:

var monthProcessed=
from m in allProcessed
where m.RealDate >= new DateTime(2012,05,01)
select m;

monthProcessed.Count().Dump("Total number of Processed Records in May 2012");

The error message is always the same:

Method 'System.DateTime Parse(System.String)' has no supported translation to SQL.

No matter how I try to create a date for compare in monthProcessed, I always get the error message above. Am I missing something?

Comments

• Options
    However, the following does work!

SqlCommand cmdBlood=new SqlCommand("SELECT DISTINCT * FROM ABGDEMOG_2 WHERE Processed=1",cnxnBlood);
    cmdBlood.CommandType=CommandType.Text;

DataColumn newcolumn=new DataColumn("RealDate",typeof(DateTime),"substring(testdate,5,2)+'/'+substring(testdate,7,2)+'/'+substring(testdate,1,4)");
    newcolumn.AutoIncrement=false;
    newcolumn.ReadOnly=true;

SqlDataAdapter daBlood = new SqlDataAdapter(cmdBlood);
    DataSet ds = new DataSet();
    daBlood.Fill(ds,"DemogData");
    DataTable tblBloodDemog=ds.Tables["DemogData"];
    tblBloodDemog.Columns.Add(newcolumn);

tblBloodDemog.Rows.Count.Dump("Total Number of Processed Records");

var a =
    from b in tblBloodDemog.AsEnumerable()