Home
Options

LIINQPad 5 Database Connections

All of my database connections are broken after upgrading to LIINQPad 5. However, prior to updating to LIINQPad I had upgraded to Windows 10.

Is there something special I should do after upgrading to Windows 10 or LIINQPad 5? Or, is there a document or webpage I can read that describes how to properly create new connections?

Thanks! I am rather at a loss.

John Miller

Comments

• Options
    Define "broken"..

Are all your connections lost? Are the passwords incorrect? Do you get an error in populating the data source?

For further analysis.. what kind of connection is used? What happens when you add a new data source using the "Add connection" dialog?

Please explain what you are doing, what behavior you are experiencing, preferably with error message or screenshot, and what you expected to see.
  • Options
    Nescafe,

The difficulty is I am very new to LINQ. I did have LINQPad 4 and was able to connect to Northwind database. Now everything is not working in LINQPad 5.

I tried to click on "Add Connection" and create a new connection like this:

I click on
    "Add connection"
    and select the radio button "Build data context automatically"
    and select "Default (LINQ to SQL)"
    and then click the "Next >" button
    and leave the provider as "SQL Server"
    and the server as ".\SQLEXPRESS"
    and leave the radio button set on "Windows Authentication"
    under Database I clicked on the radio button "Attach database file with check box User Instance checked
    Then I Browsed to Northwind database using this path:
    "C:\Users\John Miller\AppData\Roaming\LINQPad\Samples\LINQ in Action\NORTHWND.mdf"

Then I click "Test" button and the error I get is: