Home

Objects displayed only as strings, not in grid/expandable

I am new to LINQPad so this may be obvious - but I could not find a reason or an explanation.
Basically, some objects that are results of my queries are displayed in an expandable (grid) form, with each property displayed separately, and possibly further inspectable.

However, some other objects that I have, do not display in this way. Instead, I simply get a textual representation, which appears to be their ToString() result. But that's not the way I want, and furthermore, I cannot tell *why* certain objects behave this way, why others don't.

Thank you

Comments

• edited June 2016
    I've answered the question on StackOverflow:
    http://stackoverflow.com/a/37935406/46223
  • Thank you. First of all, let me tell you that I have purchased LINQPad and it is a great product. So do not take anything I write as a criticism, rather like a suggestion for improvement,

The solution proposed on SO isn't really good for my purpose. Let me explain my use case: I have a library for which I intended to provide a set of LINQPad examples/tutorials. The code in them should be as simple as possible.

The problem with the proposed solution is that it complicates the code. Possibly not that much if the IFormattable object is the direct result of the query. But that's not typically the case: They can appear anywhere in the result, as sub-properties of properties of objects. Even if I could foresee where they appear, I would have to write a complicated query just to transform all objects in the result to Expanded. Doing so would defeat the purpose of writing the examples.