Home
Options

Cannot get nutshell mdf to work

I have followed the directions from readme below
// If you don't have SQLExpress installed, the connection on the left will display in red
// and this query will throw an exception. This might be the case if you have installed
// the full-blown SQL Server instead of SQLExpress. The solution is to create your own
// database as follows:
//
// 1. Right-click "Nutshell.mdf" on the left, and choose "Edit".

rem There is no "Edit" to choose! Did you mean "Properties" ?

// 2. Select an empty database (or create a new one) on a server of your choice.
// 3. Click "Remember this connection" and OK
// 4. Execute the "Populate Demo Database" script in the next example.

What can I do since there is no "Edit" to click on?
I am running Windows 7 professional and have Visual Studio 2013 professional installed and working as it should, as far as I know. I can send screen copies, if you wish.
thanks

Comments

• Options
    Yeah, speaking as total noobie in SQL and LINQ, the authors blunder (I wonder if they don't have time or just don't care?) by assuming that "create an empty database" means something to everybody reading C# Nutshell... Ok, took me two days to figure this out, following along in the Linqpad 5 minutes.. tutorial. First, you need to determine what database engine(s) you have access to. In my case, I didn't know what I was doing, so may also have blundered. I downloaded the free version of SQL 2014 Express (in late May, 2015...microsoft is now talking about SQL 2016, but its not available afaik yet.) (Oh, I also downloaded Adventure Works 2014 and 2014 DW (data warehouse), both 64 bit). I also downloaded the SQL Management Studio, but to be clear: I am NOT at all sure that either the full SQL Express or the Mgmt Studio are necessary. There were some other db engines on my machine (some named "local..." something or other, and also there is a folder called SQL Compact Edition (which may or may not be the same thing, idk