Home
Options

Is LINQPad worth it?

edited March 2021

I remember a while ago a few coworkers really championing LINQPad. Is it still worth its cost today?

It seems like its killer functionality is that it can connect to a database, generate a LINQ to SQL context for easy querying, and dump the results in nested grids. Is this correct? If my database doesn't have foreign key constraints for its foreign keys, this is a lot less useful, right?

Does anyone here use it? What do you use it for? Would you recommend it?

Does anyone have a license and no longer use it? Why did you stop using it?

Comments

• Options

I have been using it for at least 12 years and it has definitely been money well spent and definitely recommended.

I have currently over 1900 linq files that I have decided to keep on my machine and probably as many more one-off queries that I have not kept and others than I have written when connected to remote machines.

The vast majority of these are using the automatic Linq to Sql connection, but some are using a pre-built Linq2sql or EntityFramework data context models and others connecting to SqLite databases and even csv and json files.

There are also some queries that don't have any data connection at all. At the moment I am working on some code which connects to a webservice using an api and I am prototyping this in LinqPad where it is a lot easier to dump out the json results.

I have another script which I use at home which connects to a spreadsheet in google drive and downloads some information and syncs this to a Trello board all using their apis. It could all be doing in Visual Studio, but is ten times easier in LinqPad and because this is just for myself, it will probably stay as a LinqPad script.

Also the formatting you get from Dump / CreateXhtmlWriter is probably worth the money on its own. Some much so, that I have referenced LinqPad.exe in some of my projects in order to use it.